Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: If you were to sell your car privately ...

If you were to sell your car privately ...

... which of these would you attach most importance.

1. Whoever responds first with a PM, or first phone call.
    2. Whoever commits first with a non refundable deposit.
    3. Whoever outbids the other person.
    4. Whoever sounds most enthusiastic and convinces you that they are the rightful custodian
    for your cherished 4 wheeled soulmate.

Not a question of sour grapes (honest to god) but in the past I have always lost out narrowly to genuine used car salesman, flippers, hoarders, wheeler dealers and am sure enthusiasts as I have been the third or fourth in line. I have a very busy day job and have no way of accessing Esses, PCA, pelican until the evening.

In the past I have debated several times to custom build a hot rod but I was never sure what I wanted in my own build since I am new to longhoods (Its like building a dream home when you have never lived in one). So now I am after a very original car. Just trying to understand how the mind of a seller works.
    Last edited by w00tPORSCHE; 08-07-2013 at 08:33 PM.

nemo me impune lacessit Kris Clewell's Avatar
    -Kris Clewell

Professional photojournalist

red decklid club member #1

2 - the early bird catches the worm.

Years ago, I left home at 3:30 am for a 500 mile drive to view a car that was posted on the internet a few hours earlier.

Seller was dumbfounded when I pulled into his driveway with a trailer and cash in hand just after he finished his breakfast, but in this day and age, I think that is the only way to get a really nice and very original car without paying a fortune.

2. Hands down.

Banned
    sounds like you need a different job...

or work with a locator.
    Last edited by Frank Beck; 08-08-2013 at 04:40 AM.