Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My 912-6 arrived today

My 912-6 arrived today

I have been a PCA member for 35 years and have had a number of 911's over the years. Until now, the only other long hood was a '72T that my brother-in-law and I owned together as a project back in the '80's. I recently completed a body off restoration on my 1964 Corvette. My excuse for getting that car was that it was the year I graduated from high school. Upon completion of that car, my wife asked when she was going to get a '67 car, her year of graduation. She should not have said that to me!! After 45 years of marriage she should know better than to give me even the slightest excuse to buy a car!

I began searching for '67's locally on Craigslist but did not come up with anything interesting. About two weeks ago, at the bottom of the page on Bring A Trailer, I saw this photo of a white long hood car. Clicking on the photo sent me to the Houston Craigslist where a dealer had the car. I called on the car to discover that it was a '67 912 with a 3.0 SC motor and 915 tranny. The interior had been redone and the many detailed photos revealed a rust free car. He sent me a copy of the title which was dated 1994 so I knew the previous owner had owned the car for nearly 20 years at least.

I searched for the name on the title and eventually found the California owner who had owned the car for 30 years, buying it when he was 16. We have been trading e-mails. He and his father did a restoration when they bought the car replacing the floorpan and the battery box area. They took it down to bare metal. In 1994 he and his father, both mechanical engineers, did the engine swap. Since this is California we are talking about, this SC motor has all of the smog equipment including the air pump and catalytic converter, which may soon disappear. Since he was too young to have the car titled in his name, it originally was in his father's name. In 1994, he titled it in his name.