Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need to reset torsions i the rear -5/8"

Need to reset torsions i the rear -5/8"

I want to lower the rear of my "S" approx 5/8 of an inch. Any guesses as to hom many splines or what combination I need to go with to achieve this? Thanks in advance.
    Renn-Spot - Cars & parts For Sale - http://renn-spot.blogspot.com/
    1970 911"S" - Black (originally silver)
    1974 911"S" - Silver
    1973 911"T" - Bahia Red - Now Sold
    10 sec 67 VW
    Early "S" Registry #439

Re: Need to reset torsions i the rear -5/8"

Originally posted by Cornpanzer
    I want to lower the rear of my "S" approx 5/8 of an inch. Any guesses as to hom many splines or what combination I need to go with to achieve this? Thanks in advance.
    Are the splines 44 on one end and 40 on the other like VWs are? If so, I can try do the math for ya....

Merry Christmas!

Sprint.

Yes, they are 44 and 40. Thanks for any math you can help with Sprint. I was a better literature student than I was Math!
    1974 911"S" - Silver
    10 sec 67 VW
    Early "S" Registry #439

Yes, they are 44 and 40. Thanks for any math you can help with Sprint. I was a better literature student than I was Math!
    Merry Christmas Corn!!!

I was never good with math either... But here goes. Haha...

The fundamental concept of the torsion bar adjustment (otherwise known as indexing) is knowing that a complete circle has 360° (duh!), imagine that each end of the torsion bar is actually 360° divided by the respective number of splines. The inner end has 40 splines therefore each spline is seperated by 9° (360 divided by 40) and the bar’s outer 44 splines are each seperated by 8 1/6° (360/44) or 8° and 10'.