Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Is it in poor taste.....?

Is it in poor taste.....?

Gentlemen (and ladies),

Is it in poor taste to post "what is the value of this or that" threads here on the board?

I am new to the older cars and I have posted and asked for values on certain parts and most recently a project car (1966 911). My intent was to establish a fair market value via consensus of the board and then decide if I should put it up for sale or hold it for future restoration. I purchased the car as part of a package of 3 cars so the price for the single car is beyond my limited knowledge at this point.

I expected at least a few opinions but did not receive any…..

Now, the part that really interests me is that I have received offers for both parts and cars by just asking for opinions on values. I even received an offer for a part and the car it was attached to when I posted for info on the part and had not even presented the value question. Most of the responses have been via PM and not on the threads themselves.

Now it seems members will opine endlessly about values of “for sale” cars (which I enjoy BTW) and follow values on a minute by minute basis, but why not respond on the value threads?

In closing I will add that I am not a dealer or a flipper just in the hobby for the love of the cars and often find myself in over my head.

Your consideration and advice is appreciated.
    Thanks
    Kevin
    Member #2239
    '76 911 turbo lightweight
    '87 land rover D110

Ok, I will bite

Value is in the eye of the beholder...and I am sure Sithot will be more than glad to elaborate on that point...<grin>

For example, If you have 200 RS Fire extinguisher systems and live in a 1 bedroom apartment with your 3 kids, wife and 6 Labrador retrievers, you will probably be willing to sell one of those fire extinguisher systems for far less than the guy who has only one and a 20K sf warehouse to keep his growing cache of old Porsche parts.