Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bad cars everywhere. Is it just me?

Bad cars everywhere. Is it just me?

I'm either having really bad luck or I just have a lot to learn about these early cars.

I'm new to these cars but a longtime Porsche collector. I just recently decided to add a couple long hoods to my collection and I'm really beginning to appreciate these cars for the pure driving experience they offer. I got lucky on my first car - well taken car of, a time capsule really. It's a special car and I don't expect to get that lucky every time. But since then I've looked at four other cars and paid for four inspections. All looked like solid cars and I expected all to pass a PPI. But none did. And, trust me, I'm not being overly picky. I'm a car guy and I understand what happens to cars over 50 years.

I guess I'm surprised because this is so different for me. I've probably paid for 15 air-cooled PPI's prior to this and only twice have I had an issue that stopped me from buying the car. And now 4 in a row? Can someone with more experience in the early cars tell me - is this normal? Should I expect to look this hard to find a solid car? Does the fact that these cars are 10-20 years older then what I usually buy make that big of a difference?

Nord Stern Region of PCA....west coast side of Region
    YES, most of the cars anywhere outside of the s.w. are really prone to being rusty.

unless they have been hidden away from nearly day one in a musty old barn.

Then you have vermin
    Best Regards,
    mrgreenjeans
    member # 1503

-'68 -912 Red
    -'74 -914-2.0 litre - Sunflower
    -'82/83 -944 -M404 - Guards Red
    -'84 -944 -M456 - Guards Red -Weissach Prep. -H52
    -'84 -944 -M456 - Zermatt Silver
    -'84 -944 -M404 - Sunroof Delete - Ruby Red
    -'85.2 - 944 -M456 -Zermatt / Sport Purposes
    -'86 -944 -R74 Spt.Touring Pkg - White/Burgandy
    -'88 -944 - Jubilee Ltd. Ed. -Satin Black Met/Grey Plaid
    -'88 -911 - Tourist Delivery -Venetian Blue